Chesterfield News

Winners celebrated at Derbyshire School Sport and Physical Activity Awards

The work of schools, groups and individuals to help young people to engage in more active and healthy lives has been recognised at this year’s Derbyshire School Sport and Physical Activity Awards.

Held at the Winding Wheel Theatre in Chesterfield, the awards – which are run jointly by Active Derbyshire, Derbyshire Schools’ Sports Association Sports Association (DSSA) and Derbyshire Active Schools Network (DASN) – also celebrated the sporting successes of young people and the hard work of volunteers, leaders, coaches and school staff.

Winners included The Pingle Academy, which received the Active Derbyshire Schools Community Contribution Award, and Chapel-en-le-Frith High School which won Outstanding School Achievement.

Naomi Jones, Programme Lead at Active Derbyshire, said: “We were delighted to work in partnership with DSSA and DASN to organise and host this year’s awards, and my congratulations go to all of the winners. There is some fantastic work taking place in schools to promote health and wellbeing and engage more young people in becoming physically active and we thoroughly enjoyed showcasing some of the best examples of how this is happening across Derbyshire as well as recognising the successes of a number of individuals and teams.”

Fifteen schools were also recognised for being awarded The School Games Mark Platinum Award from the Youth Sport Trust. They are: Cutthorpe Primary School; Dronfield Stonelow Junior School; Fairmeadows Foundation Primary School; Glebe Junior School; Hague Bar Primary School; Hayfield Primary School; Ladywood Primary School; Linton Primary School; Longstone CofE Primary School; Markeaton Primary School; Osmaston CofE Primary School; Pennine Way Junior Academy; St Edward’s Catholic Academy; Tintwistle CofE Primary School; and Walton On Trent CofE Primary and Nursery School.

The Platinum Award was launched as an extension of the School Games Mark to reward schools who have maintained consistently high standards with their school sport provision, and special certificates of recognition were presented by Katy Rogers from the Youth Sport Trust.

A full list of award winners is below:

Outstanding Personal Achievement, sponsored by the University of Derby

  • Kate Robertson, Derby High School
  • Joseph Cooper, Chinley Primary School
  • Abbie Breakwell, The Long Eaton School
  • Ben Haylett, Friesland School
  • George Cooper, Bolsover Church of England Junior School
  • Jacob Whittle, Tupton Hall School

Outstanding Team Achievement, sponsored by Unit 1 Fitness and Martial Arts

  • Derbyshire Youth Sailing A Team
  • Ecclesbourne School Key Stage 4 Boys Badminton Team
  • Silverhill Primary School U11 Girls Futsal Team
  • Derbyshire Schoolboys Golf Team

Personal Best

  • Joel Kelly, All Saints Catholic Voluntary Academy

Outstanding School Achievement, sponsored by the University of Derby

  • Chapel-en-le-Frith High School

Teacher/Staff Member of the Year

  • Andrew Reeves, Fairmeadows Foundation Primary School
  • Heather James, Ladywood Primary School
  • Chris Peach, Ashbourne Primary School
  • Nikki Shenton, Heath Fields Primary School

Active and Healthy School of the Year, sponsored by Boogie Bounce

  • Town End Junior School
  • New Mills Primary School
  • Ladywood Primary School
  • Brockwell Junior School
  • Bishop Lonsdale Primary School

Active Project or Initiative

  • Town End Junior School
  • Tibshelf Infant & Nursery School
  • Redwood Primary School

Volunteer of the Year

  • Louise Robertson, Derbyshire Youth Sailing
  • Alisha Bethell, Highfields School
  • Frazer Hipkiss, Brockwell Junior School

Young Leaders Award, sponsored by Chesterfield College

  • Blakley Radford-Banks, Town End Junior School
  • Louis Graham, Harrington Junior School
  • Nathanael Gaskin, Brockwell Junior School
  • Holly Carr, Highfields School
  • Evie Jowett, Highfields School

Young Coach/Official Award

  • Emma Robertson, Derby High School
  • Harry Rudkin, Highfields School

Active Derbyshire Schools Community Contribution Award

  • The Pingle Academy

The Services to School Sport Award in honour of Suzanne Meehan

  • Karen Shopland

Dom Stevens

Destination Chesterfield Manager

Email Dom

Keep up to date

Dont miss out on all the latest news, updates & special offers.

Signup to our newsletter