Chesterfield News

Former councillors honoured for their service

Three former councillors, John Burrows, Ray Russell and Steve Brunt, have been honoured for the service they have given to the borough of Chesterfield.

Former council leaders John Burrows and Ray Russell and former cabinet member Steve Brunt received the honour at an extraordinary council meeting held at the Town Hall on Monday 18 November.

Former councillor John Burrows served as council leader between 2001 and 2003 and again between 2011 and 2017. Former councillor Ray Russell served as council leader between 2003 and 2011. Both John Burrows and Ray Russel served on the Destination Chesterfield Board.

Former councillor Steve Brunt served as mayor in 2016 and as cabinet member for town centres and visitor economy from 2017 to 2019.

Honorary alderman status is the second-highest honour the council can bestow after the freedom of the borough and has previously only been granted on 13 occasions.

At the ceremony, each was presented with a scroll and commemorative badge and signed the roll of honorary aldermen. Their names have also been added to the board displayed outside the Council Chamber in the Town Hall.

The role carries no responsibilities but recognises the service each of these men have given in their communities and means they will be invited to attend certain council meetings and events as honoured guests.

(L to R) Ray Russell, Steve Brunt and John Burrows receive their Honorary Alderman certificates during a ceremony held at the town hall.

Brogan O'Callaghan

Destination Chesterfield Coordinator (Marketing and Investment)

Email Brogan
Moor Ward

Keep up to date

Dont miss out on all the latest news, updates & special offers.

Signup to our newsletter